Top 10 Vegan Wines (Pinot Noir Edition)

[et_pb_section bb_built=”1″ _builder_version=”3.0.97″][et_pb_row _builder_version=”3.0.92″][et_pb_column type=”4_4″][et_pb_text _builder_version=”3.0.97″ background_layout=”light”]

The first thing you may ask yourself is how the hell is wine not vegan?

Well, we will tell you why…

While filtering the wine before packaging, wineries can utilize fining agents like isinglass (from fish bladder,) gelatin, egg whites, in addition to other gross ingredients.. These fining agents are used to soften tannins from the seeds and grapes prior to bottling as we have discussed in our previous post  “Wtf My Champagne Is Made With Pig?”

Here at The Phat Vegan we came up with a short list of Top 10 Vegan Wines (Pinot Noir Edition) that you can drink without thinking twice about an animal being harmed in the making of the wine.

Note: All that are listed have been checked and verified!

Austin Winery Pinot Noir, Sonoma Coast

Company email:
“Currently we do not use any animal based products for fining or filtering, so our whole portfolio is vegan. Should this change I will give you a holler.” [we’re leaving the Violet Crown as red until we can confirm there’s a new vintage released]

La Crema Pinot Noir

Company email:
2011 and 2012 Sonoma Coast Chardonnay and Pinot Noir
“We do not use any animal derived fining agents in our wines. Both of those wines were filtered and fined using pumps and Diatomaceous earth.”

Meiomi Pinot Noir

Company email: 
“We do not use any animal ingredient in processing/filtering our wine and this is the only place.”

Frey Vineyards Pinot Noir

Company email:
“All of our wines are vegan wines, including our Pacific Redwood wines. No animal products are used during fermentation or during any other winemaking process.”
Note: Frey uses biodynamic farming techniques.

Thumbprint Pinot Noir

Company email: 
“I wanted to introduce myself to you and the winery I work for. I work for thumbprint cellars, a family owned artisan winery in Healdsburg CA. We produce about 4500 cases annually, all of which are VEGAN!”

Underwood 2016+ Pinot Noir

Company email:
“All of our wines (including cans) are vegan with one exception – our Underwood Rose (bottled and canned) is not vegan, as it contains casein, a protein found in milk.”

Amici 2013 Pinot Noir

Company email:
The 2013 Amici Pinot Noir Reserve is the only one you listed I know for sure to be vegan. It was lightly fined with yeast proteins (Fungii derived) only.

Viña Apaltagua Pinot Noir

Company email:
“All of our wines are vegan. We do not use any animal products when clarifying the wine.”

Kendall-Jackson Vintner’s Reserve Pinot Noir

Company email:
Vintner’s Reserve Pinot Noir (2011) and Vintner’s Reserve Zinfandel (2011)
“Our Pinot Noir and Zinfandel are absolutely Vegan suitable. They were not fined using any animal products or derivatives. Please feel free to enjoy!”

Yellow Tail Pinot Noir

Company email:
“All [yellow tail] red varieties are vegan-friendly. White varieties are not vegan-friendly due to the use of animal products (gelatin) in the fining process.” According to https://www.yellowtailwine.com/us/wp-content/uploads/sites/6/2016/11/5924-YT-Nutritional-Value-Chart.pdf (retrieved February 2018) the Sangria and Sangria Blanco aren’t vegan.

[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][/et_pb_row][/et_pb_section]

2 COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here